At a glance
HomeGlide, HomeGlide Extra, HomeGlide Outdoor key specs
- Rated load, stairs up to 45 degrees, without folding rail
- 350 lb
- Stair incline, HomeGlide and Extra
- 28 to 53 degrees
- Min. stair width, HomeGlide and Extra
- 29 in (740 mm)
- Batteries (7 Ah indoor, 9 Ah outdoor)
- 2 x 12 V
- HomeGlide Outdoor temperature range
- 5 to 122 °F
- What it is: the Access BDD HomeGlide, a battery-powered stair lift (stairway chairlift) for one straight staircase. It is sold in the US as the HomeGlide, the HomeGlide Extra option package and the HomeGlide Outdoor, all under model code RP01-ST.
- Rated load: 350 lb on stairs up to 45 degrees, for the HomeGlide, Extra and Outdoor; 300 lb on stairs up to 53 degrees; 320 lb with the folding rail (HomeGlide specification table; its FAQ gives 294 lb and 308 lb).
- Stairs: straight only, with no curves or landings. The HomeGlide and Extra fit inclines of 28 to 53 degrees and stairs as narrow as 29 in (740 mm); the Outdoor is rated up to 53 degrees. Confirm the Outdoor's width and minimum incline with the dealer.
- On the stair: the aluminum rail mounts to the stair treads, not the wall. Access BDD does not publish rail lengths, rail overrun or the folded chair width.
- Power: two 12 V batteries (7 Ah indoor, 9 Ah outdoor), charged while the chair is parked at its charging point. The lift runs on them during a power outage. Access BDD publishes no charger or circuit rating.
- Standard: Access BDD lists ASME A18.1-2023, CSA B355:2024, EN 81-40:2020 and the EU Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC. ASME A18.1-2023, the US standard in that list, is also the edition New Jersey's elevator subcode uses.
- Indoor or outdoor: the HomeGlide and HomeGlide Extra are for indoor stairs. For exterior straight stairs, the HomeGlide Outdoor is rated for 5°F to 122°F and has a weather cover.
- Who installs: an Access BDD dealer; Access BDD sells only through approved dealers.
What is the HomeGlide, and where does it fit?
The HomeGlide is Access BDD's battery-powered straight stair lift, sold indoors as the HomeGlide and HomeGlide Extra and outdoors as the HomeGlide Outdoor.
The HomeGlide is Access BDD's straight stair lift: a battery-powered chair that travels on a slim aluminum rail fixed to the stair treads. The rider drives it with a joystick and wears a retractable seatbelt; a sensor checks that the belt is fastened before the lift travels. The drive is rack and pinion.
Access BDD sells three US versions. The HomeGlide is the base model, which Access BDD also calls the HomeGlide Standard. The HomeGlide Extra is an option package on the same product page, not a separate model page. The HomeGlide Outdoor has its own US page. All three carry model code RP01-ST.
Where it fits. A straight staircase, which Access BDD describes as one that goes "straight up and down without curves or landings". Indoors, that is the HomeGlide or HomeGlide Extra. On exterior steps to a deck, porch, patio or garden, it is the HomeGlide Outdoor.
Where it does not fit.
- A stair with a curve, a turn or an intermediate landing. Access BDD's lift for those stairs is the Flow X.
- A stair narrower than 29 in. Access BDD says the Flow X runs on stairs as narrow as 24 in with its ASL swivel-and-leveling seat, which the Flow X owner manual lists as an option.
- A stair steeper than 53 degrees, or, for the HomeGlide and Extra, shallower than 28 degrees. The Outdoor's minimum incline is not published (section 03).
- A rider heavier than the rating for the stair's angle (section 03).
- A person who cannot transfer from a wheelchair to a fixed seat. The U.S. Access Board notes that chairlifts "require transfer to a fixed seat from wheeled mobility aids". Plan a platform lift, such as an inclined platform lift on the stair (Savaria Delta), or an elevator.
What it is confused with. The Access BDD Flow X is Access BDD's curved stair lift, and Access BDD's FAQ says the Flow X "is also available for straight staircases."
How it is sold. Access BDD, the reseller division of TK Access Solutions Ltd., says it operates "exclusively as a business-to-business supplier" and sells its stair lifts "through a network of fully qualified and approved dealers." Its US dealer locator lists Mobility123 as an Access BDD stair lift dealer in New Jersey. Other models are on the stairlift category page.
How do the HomeGlide, HomeGlide Extra and HomeGlide Outdoor differ?
The HomeGlide Extra adds powered features to the base HomeGlide, and the HomeGlide Outdoor is the exterior version, compared in the table below.
The Extra has "all the features and benefits of the HomeGlide Standard", plus the enhancements in its column. "Not stated" means Access BDD's US pages do not say.
| Item | HomeGlide | HomeGlide Extra | HomeGlide Outdoor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stairs | Straight, indoor | Straight, indoor | Straight, exterior |
| Seat swivel at the top landing | Not powered (the Extra "upgrades you to the powered swivel seat"); type and angle not stated | Powered: turns the chair toward the landing while the rider holds the joystick | Manual lever: turns the chair 70° toward the landing |
| Footrest | Yes | Powered, linked to the seat, so it unfolds with the chair | Yes |
| Keylock | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Seat height | Not stated | Four heights to choose from; the heights are available from the manufacturer or a dealer on request | Not stated |
| Remote controls (call and park) | Not stated | Not stated | Included; they mount on a wall inside the home |
| Safety features listed | Automatic stop, retractable seatbelt with fastening sensor, emergency stop button, armrest detection | Same as the HomeGlide | Automatic stop sensor, obstruction sensors, emergency stop button, armrest detection, retractable seatbelt, constant-pressure drive |
| Batteries | 2 x 12V, 7Ah (indoor) | Same as the HomeGlide | 2 x 12V, 9Ah (outdoor) |
| Weather protection | Indoor model | Indoor model | Cover against rain, dust and sunlight; corrosion-resistant gear racking and hardware |
Options on the HomeGlide page. The automatic folding rail (section 04) and a call device that stores up to three telephone numbers are offered on the HomeGlide page. Access BDD does not say whether either depends on the Extra package, and neither is stated for the Outdoor.
Order name. Access BDD's US product registration form lists four stair lift models: Flow X, HomeGlide, HomeGlide Extra and HomeGlide Outdoor. Use those names on submittals so the package is clear.
What are the HomeGlide's published ratings and dimensions?
Access BDD rates the HomeGlide up to 350 lb on stairs up to 45 degrees, with lower ratings on steeper stairs or with the folding rail.
Values from Access BDD's US product pages, quoted as published. Access BDD gives kilograms for the HomeGlide but not for the Outdoor.
| Item | HomeGlide and HomeGlide Extra | HomeGlide Outdoor |
|---|---|---|
| Rated load, stair up to 45° | 350 lb (160 kg) | 350 lb |
| Rated load, stair up to 53° | 300 lb (136 kg) in the spec table; 294 lb in the FAQ | 300 lb |
| Rated load "with hinge" (folding rail) | 320 lb (145 kg) in the spec table; 308 lb in the FAQ | Not published |
| Staircase incline | 28° up to 53° (up to 45° for the 350 lb rating) | Rated up to 53° (capacity rows); minimum incline available on request |
| Minimum stair width | 29 in (740 mm) | Not restated on the Outdoor pages; confirm with the dealer |
| Speed | 23.6 ft/min (0.12 m/s) | 23.6 ft/min |
| Drive and motor | Rack and pinion, 280 W | Rack and pinion, 280 W |
| Operating temperature | Available on request | 5°F to 122°F |
"Available on request" means available from the manufacturer or a dealer on request.
- Two ratings on one page. On the HomeGlide page, the specification table gives 300 lb at 53 degrees and 320 lb with the folding rail. The FAQ on the same page gives 294 lb and 308 lb. Where the rider's weight is between the two figures, confirm the rating with Access BDD through the dealer before ordering.
- Stair width. Access BDD states the 29 in (740 mm) figure for "the HomeGlide stair lift range", and its Stair Lifts page lists the Outdoor in that series. The Outdoor pages do not repeat the figure.
- What "with hinge" means. Access BDD calls the automatic folding rail a "fully powered folding rail hinge", so this guide reads the "with hinge" rating as the rating with that rail fitted. Confirm it with the dealer. Access BDD publishes no folding-rail rating for the Outdoor, and does not say whether the Outdoor can have one.
- Not published. These are available from the manufacturer or a dealer on request: standard rail lengths, maximum travel and rail joints; rail overrun at the bottom and top landings; clearance at the bottom landing, and the folding rail's geometry; the folded chair width; seat height, width and depth; armrest height; and footrest size. Access BDD does not publish the unit or rail weight, the sound level, or the HomeGlide's upholstery and color choices.
How does the rail mount, and what do the landings need?
The rail mounts to the stair treads, not the wall, and Access BDD does not publish tread loads, bracket spacing or anchoring methods.
Bottom landing
- Folding rail
- Optional automatic folding rail for an obstruction at the foot of the stair. After use, the lower rail section folds away and leaves the bottom of the stair clear
- Folding rail sensors
- Built-in sensors let the rail unfold only when the path is clear
- Folding rail hand
- Available for left-hand and right-hand staircases, as a complete, pre-configured unit
Top landing
- Swivel clearance
- Available on request. The swivel on each version is in section 02
Tread mounting. Access BDD states that its stair lifts "are mounted to the stair treads, not your property's wall". It does not publish the loads on the treads, the bracket spacing, the fixing method or the tread materials it accepts. Have the dealer confirm the tread construction and fastening surface before ordering.
Exterior stairs. Access BDD publishes no anchoring method for concrete, masonry or wood deck stairs. Confirm the stair structure and the fixings with the dealer before ordering, and finish any stair repairs first.
Planning help
Checking a site for this model?
Send the plans and the site measurements through the contact form.
What power and controls does the HomeGlide need?
The HomeGlide charges its batteries when parked, and Access BDD publishes no charger rating, circuit requirement or manual lowering procedure.
- Charging: Access BDD says its stair lifts "charge efficiently when parked at their charging stations", and that an outdoor lift not in use "stays connected to a charging point". It does not publish how many charging points a HomeGlide has or where they sit on the rail.
- Supply: Access BDD publishes no charger input rating, receptacle type, receptacle location, dedicated-circuit requirement or GFCI requirement. It says a stair lift "only draws electricity while charging its batteries." Get the charger rating and the outlet location from the dealer. The electrician sizes and protects the circuit under the National Electrical Code (NEC 2023 in New Jersey) and the authority having jurisdiction (AHJ).
- Power outage: "Yes, the HomeGlide is battery-operated, which means you can still use it during a power outage." Access BDD publishes no run time on battery.
- Manual lowering: Access BDD publishes no emergency or manual lowering procedure for the HomeGlide. Ask the dealer how a stopped chair is brought to a landing.
- Remote controls: included with the Outdoor to call and park the lift; they sit on a wall inside the home. Access BDD does not say whether they are wired or battery powered, or whether the HomeGlide and Extra include them.
What does the HomeGlide Outdoor add for exterior stairs?
The HomeGlide Outdoor adds a 5°F to 122°F temperature rating, a weather cover and obstruction sensors, but Access BDD publishes no IP rating.
- Temperature: "certified for use between 5°F to 122°F."
- Weather: a cover that "protects against rain, dust, and sunlight", an aluminum rail built for outdoor environments, and corrosion-resistant gear racking and hardware.
- Obstructions: obstruction sensors stop the lift "if a garden tool or toy is on the track."
- Not published: the ingress protection (IP) rating. The humidity rating is available on request.
What codes apply in New Jersey and Pennsylvania?
Permit and inspection requirements for stairlifts vary by state and code office, and the authority having jurisdiction confirms them.
What Access BDD states. Both US specification tables list ASME A18.1-2023, CSA B355:2024, EN 81-40:2020 and the EU Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC. Access BDD names no A18.1 part, listing mark, test laboratory or certificate number.
New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Permit and inspection requirements for stairlifts vary by state, building type and local code office. Confirm them with the authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) before installation. Stairlifts in commercial buildings and in the common areas of apartment buildings need a permit and yearly inspection.
Accessibility (public buildings only). Access BDD mentions use "in a public setting". There, the U.S. Access Board says stairway chairlifts cannot be used where the 2010 ADA Standards permit platform lifts (206.7), because riders must transfer to a fixed seat. The design professional decides the accessible route.
For the full code picture, see NJ and PA code requirements.
Who does what on a HomeGlide project?
A HomeGlide project moves from checking the rider and stair, to choosing the version, to prepping the site, to the dealer's installation.
Step 01
Check the rider and the stair
Confirm one straight flight, the stair angle, the clear width and the rider's weight against the rating for that angle.
Step 02
Choose the version and options
HomeGlide, HomeGlide Extra or HomeGlide Outdoor, plus the folding rail or call device where needed. Get the values Access BDD does not publish from the dealer.
Step 03
Prepare the stair and power
Finish the treads and landings, provide power where the dealer directs, and agree the remote-control location for the Outdoor.
Step 04
Install and hand over
An Access BDD dealer installs the lift.
| Party | Responsibilities |
|---|---|
| Owner | Confirms who will ride, their weight and whether they can transfer to the seat. Keeps the lift parked on its charging point. Books the yearly service Access BDD recommends |
| Architect or engineer | Confirms the stair is straight and within the incline and width limits. Plans both landings clear of doors and walkways. Decides whether the project needs an accessible route. Prepares sealed layouts where the AHJ requires them |
| General contractor | Leaves the treads sound and fastenable. Settles flooring and carpet before ordering. Completes stair repairs and finishes, indoors or out, before installation |
| Electrician | Provides power for charging where the dealer directs, sized and protected under the NEC and the AHJ (section 05) |
| Access BDD dealer | Confirms the stair and rider fit, recommends the version and options, supplies unpublished dimensions, installs the lift, services it and handles warranty claims |
| Manufacturer (Access BDD) | Supplies the lift and states its ratings and the standards it lists |
| AHJ | Decides which code requirements apply |
What mistakes should planners avoid?
Common mistakes include using UK figures, assuming Extra or HomeGlide values apply to the Outdoor, and treating the lift as an accessible route.
- Using UK figures. Access BDD's UK HomeGlide pages (model code RP00-ST) show ratings and certifications that differ from its US pages. A submittal built on them may not match the RP01-ST lift.
- Assuming 350 lb on a steep stair. Above 45 degrees the rating drops (section 03), so a heavier rider can be over it.
- Assuming Extra features on the base HomeGlide. The powered swivel, keylock and four seat heights are listed for the Extra, not the base HomeGlide. A top-landing exit drawn around the powered swivel may not match the lift delivered.
- Carrying HomeGlide values to the Outdoor. The Outdoor pages do not restate the 29 in width, a minimum incline or a folding-rail rating (section 03). A layout based on HomeGlide values may not fit.
- Ignoring the rail end at the bottom. Next to a door or walkway, the fixed rail end stays in the path. Plan the folding rail or move the walkway.
- Counting a stair lift as an accessible route. The Access Board says stairway chairlifts cannot be used where the ADA Standards permit platform lifts. The design then lacks an accessible route where the ADA Standards apply.
Checklists
Separate checklists cover the architect or designer, the general contractor and the electrician.
Architect or designer
General contractor
Electrician
What warranty and service terms does Access BDD publish?
Access BDD publishes no warranty terms beyond a dealer-managed "lifetime warranty offer" and a yearly dealer service recommendation.
Access BDD's US site publishes no warranty terms for the HomeGlide or the HomeGlide Outdoor: no coverage period, component list or exclusions. Its Stair Lifts page says a new stair lift comes with "full manufacturer warranties", without terms.
The only published statement of warranty terms is the "Lifetime Warranty Disclaimer" in the website Terms & Conditions, linked from the US site footer.
It says the "lifetime warranty offer" is "subject to full terms and conditions" and is "provided and managed through our network of local dealers, and not directly by Access BDD", and that Access BDD "is not responsible for any warranty claims or service agreements made between the customer and the local dealer." Get the written warranty terms before ordering.
Product registration on Access BDD's US site is optional and gives a digital product ownership certificate. Access BDD says: "Registering your stairlift does not change the terms of your warranty."
For service, Access BDD recommends having a stair lift "serviced at least once a year by your local Access BDD dealer", and says to contact the local dealer if the lift stops working.
Frequently asked questions
How wide does the stair need to be for a HomeGlide?
Access BDD says the HomeGlide range fits almost all straight staircases as narrow as 29 in (740 mm). The Outdoor pages do not restate the figure; confirm the Outdoor width with the manufacturer or a dealer. For narrower stairs, Access BDD says the Flow X runs on stairs as narrow as 24 in with the ASL seat, an option in the Flow X owner manual; see the Flow X guide.
What is the weight limit?
350 lb on stairs up to 45 degrees, for all three versions. On steeper stairs, up to 53 degrees, both spec tables give 300 lb (136 kg on the HomeGlide table); the HomeGlide FAQ gives 294 lb. With the folding rail, the HomeGlide table gives 320 lb (145 kg) and the FAQ 308 lb. Confirm through the dealer when the rider is near a limit.
Can a HomeGlide go on a stair with a landing or a turn?
No. It is for straight staircases without curves or landings. Access BDD's lift for curved stairs is the Flow X.
Does a HomeGlide need a dedicated circuit?
Access BDD does not publish a charger rating, a receptacle type or a circuit requirement. Get them from the dealer. The electrician sizes and protects the circuit under the NEC and the AHJ.
What happens in a power outage?
The HomeGlide runs on its batteries, so it can still be used. Access BDD publishes no run time on battery and no manual lowering procedure; ask the dealer.
Can the HomeGlide Outdoor stay outside in a New Jersey winter?
Access BDD rates the Outdoor for 5°F to 122°F, with a cover against rain, dust and sunlight and corrosion-resistant hardware. It publishes no IP rating.
Can a HomeGlide serve as the accessible route in a public building?
No. The U.S. Access Board says stairway chairlifts cannot be used where the 2010 ADA Standards permit platform lifts, because riders must transfer to a fixed seat. Plan a ramp, an elevator, or a platform lift where ADA 206.7 permits one.
Sources and revision history
Show the sources and revision historyHide the sources and revision history
Manufacturer (Access BDD, US site, checked 2026-09-26). Access BDD publishes no public PDF for the HomeGlide: no spec sheet, drawing, manual or warranty document.
- HomeGlide Stair Lift, model code RP01-ST, page modified 2026-05-14.
- HomeGlide Outdoor Stair Lift, model code RP01-ST, page modified 2026-05-14.
- Enjoy Your Outdoor Spaces Again with the HomeGlide Outdoor Stair Lift, March 26, 2026.
- Discover the HomeGlide Automatic Folding Rail, December 11, 2025.
- FAQ Hub, Stair Lifts, Straight Stair Lifts, Outdoor Stair Lifts and Stair Lifts for Narrow Staircases.
- For the Flow X width and its ASL option only: Flow X Stair Lift, page modified 2026-07-22, and the Access Flow X stairlift User Manual, Version 2.2, part no. 1001770D (TK Home Solutions B.V., 2022), which Access BDD does not host on its US site.
- Product Registration, About Access and Find a Dealer.
- Terms & Conditions, Lifetime Warranty Disclaimer, page modified 2024-01-11.
Codes and regulations
- N.J.A.C. 5:23-2 and 5:23-12, current through 58 N.J.R. No. 16 (August 17, 2026); NJ DCA, Current Construction Codes.
- International Code Council, 2024 International Building Code, Chapter 35 Referenced Standards, Version Aug 2025 (ASME A18.1-2023).
- 34 Pa. Code § 405.3 and § 405.7, as amended effective December 20, 2026.
- U.S. Department of Justice, 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design; U.S. Access Board, Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards, Chapter 4.
Revision history
| Revision | Date | Change |
|---|---|---|
| Rev. 01 | 2026-09-26 | First publication. |
| Rev. 02 | 2026-09-27 | Codes section shortened. |
Access BDD HomeGlide
Planning a project with this model?
Send photos or a sketch of the stair, the rider's needs and the nearest power point. Mobility123 sells, installs and services the HomeGlide in New Jersey and eastern Pennsylvania.






